Skip to main content

Distinguished Alumni and Friends

The Poole College of Management is proud of the strong tradition of achievement and community service among our more than 25,000 alumni. Our graduates are CEOs, vice presidents, entrepreneurs, managing directors, and more. Around the world, they have taken on important and prominent roles as international business leaders in a wide range of industries.

Each year, the Poole College and NC State recognize an alumnus for his or her career successes as well as outstanding support of the university. Honorees are presented with an Alumni of the Year award at the NC State Alumni Association’s prestigious annual recognition celebration, the Evening of the Stars.

Evening of Stars

Each year, celebrated alumni from across the globe gather in Raleigh for the Evening of Stars Gala – a time-honored event where the Alumni Association celebrates the winners of the College Distinguished Alumni Awards.

Recommend an Alumnus

If you would like to recommend an alumnus who you believe should be considered for this great honor, please contact our alumni relations director at

Poole College Alumni of the Year Honorees

2021 | Richard Bryant (1981), Co-Founder and CEO of Capital Investment Companies, Distinguished Alumni Award

2020 | Herb Bales (1984), Chief Financial Officer of Atlantic Investment Management, Distinguished Alumni Award

2018 | Charles (Chuck) A. Keeley III (1985), President of CGR Products, Distinguished Alumni Award

2017 | Ken Torok (1975), Former President Asia Pacific Region, UPS, Distinguished Alumni Award

2016 | Robert F. Andrews, III (1966), Former Chairman and CEO of FMI Corporation, Distinguished Alumni Award

2015 | Clifton B. Knight, Jr. (1969, 1970), Executive Vice President, Legal & Business Affairs, Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer, Bookspan LLC, New York, NY, Distinguished Alumni Award

2014 | Charles Stallings (1977), Senior Vice President, BB&T Capital Markets’ Institutional Fixed Income Group, Distinguished Alumni Award

2012 | Kevin Beasley (1979), CPA, Grant Thornton Raleigh office, Distinguished Alumni Award

2011 | Jon Bartley (1969), professor, graduate faculty, NCSU, Distinguished Alumni Award

2010 | Jon Rufty (1977), President and Owner, Rufty Homes, Raleigh, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2009 | Christine Holmes (1988), senior partner, EY, Rutherford, N.J., Distinguished Alumni Award

2008 | JR Shearin (1981), managing partner, Deloitte, Raleigh, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2007 | David Morgan (1982), executive vice president and chief banking officer, Capital Bank, Raleigh. N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2006 | Gary Massey (1978), Owner, Good Health Services Inc., Raleigh, NC, Distinguished Alumni Award

2005 | Stan Kelly (1980), president, wealth management, Wachovia, Winston-Salem, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2004 | Michael Constantino (1984, 1985), CPA, Ernst & Young, Cary, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2003 | Dr. H. Fred Gallasch Jr. (1967, 1973), General Motors, Franklin, MI, Distinguished Alumni Award

2002 | Dr. Alvin M. Cruze (Economics Ph.D., 1972), vice president of Research Triangle Institute, RTP, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2001 | Dr. Hans Peter Binswanger (Economics, Ph.D., 1973), World Bank economist, Washington, D.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

2000 | Shawn A. Dorsch (1986), Derivatives Net, Charlotte, N.C., Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

2000 | Billy Ray Hall (Economics 1969 and 1970), Distinguished Alumnus Award

1999 | Dr. James W. Owens (Economics Ph.D., 1973), president and chief executive officer (retired), Caterpillar, Distinguished Alumni Award; 2008, College of Management Person of the Year Award.

1998 | Harold S. Lichtin (1970), Distinguished Alumni Award

1997 | Richard K. Bryant (1981), Raleigh, N.C., Capital Investment Group, Inc., Raleigh, N.C., Distinguished Alumni Award

1996 | Mrs. Anne Marie (Rompalske) Pecht (1979), senior attorney, Department of Justice Civil Rights Divsion, Distinguished Alumni Award

1995 | Will B. Spence, Jr., president and chief operating officer, Wachovia Bank, South Carolina, N.A., Distinguished Alumni Award

1994 | Johnny B. Kerr (1980), president, Kerr Drug Stores, Inc., Distinguished Alumni Award

Poole College Person of the Year Honorees

Poole College of Management makes a Person of the Year Award to a distinguished individual, or individuals, who has made outstanding contributions to the college, to his or her profession and to the NC State community. Recipients of this award include:

2018 | Ron E. Doggett, Former Chairman & CEO of Goodmark Foods

2017 | Hampton Pitts (1986), partner and chief operating officer for LStar Management, LStar Communities

2016 | Cara and Russ McLauchlan, Calvert Holdings

2015 | Smedes York (1963 Engineering), Chairman, McDonald-York Properties

2014 | Jon Bartley (1969), professor, graduate faculty, NC State

2013 | Henry Campen, Partner, Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP

2012 | Michael T. Constantino (1984, 1985), Assurance and Managing Partner, EY

2011 | Lonnie C. Poole, Jr. (1959 Engineering),

2010 | Stephen P. Zelnak, Jr., Chairman, Martin Marietta Materials & ZP Enterprises, LLC

2009 | Dr. James W. Owens (Economics Ph.D., 1973), president and chief executive officer (retired), Caterpillar, Board of Trustees (Chair)

2008 | Benjamin P. Jenkins, III (1968, Textiles), Former Vice Chairman and President of The General Banking Group of Wachovia Corporation, Board of Trustees (former Chair)