Meet Nicole Rivera

Student Profile

Nicole_Rivera

What is your major?

Business Administration with a concentration in Information Technology

Where is your hometown and what countries/states/cities have you lived in?

I was born in Nashville, TN and then lived in a couple of places in SC. My formative years were spent in Kings Mountain, NC and I have lived in Raleigh for the last 5 years.

What institution(s) did you attend before transferring to NC State?

I attended 3 different colleges before coming to NC State. Gardner-Webb University, Cleveland Community College, and Central Piedmont Community College

What made you choose NC State?

The culture! I felt the culture was very welcoming and would allow me to connect and grow during my time there.

 What drew you to the Poole College of Management and a career in business?

From the organization, class offerings, and available concentrations and majors, it was not hard at all to choose Poole

What were you most looking forward to when you joined Poole College?

When I joined Poole, I was really looking forward to that “college experience” I didn’t get attending smaller colleges. I was also excited about the networking and career development opportunities that Poole provides. Being someone who was changing work fields, this was critical for my success

What advice would you give a transfer student looking to come to NC State/Poole College?

DON’T FREAK OUT! First semester is the hardest as you are integrating and figuring everything out. Also, get involved! Poole has one of the BEST bases for involvement and a great variety, too.

Have you had professional experience before coming to Poole College?

Yes, I am a licensed dental hygienist. I worked about 3 years in the field before applying to NC State.

Have you held any internships while at your previous institution?

I never had an internship before coming to NC State. I worked in retail and at the YMCA during my first degree. At State, I was able to work 3 different internships thanks to professor recommendations and relevant classwork/experience.

Are you a member of any professional clubs, committees, or organizations?

I’ve just started getting involved in WIT (Women in Technology). This is an organization through my work that helps bring woman (or anyone who wants to be involved) together to learn from one another, foster growth and participate in community outreach events. The program entails so much more but the main goal is supporting and encouraging women and girls who are in or want to be in the technology field. 

When you are not at school, what do you enjoy doing for fun? 

I love spending time with my husband and dogs. Cooking and trying new foods is a passion of mine and I have recently started a food blog on IG (@wecaneathere). Besides those, anything outdoors and anywhere new is my motto. I like that feeling of mystery and unknown.

What do you consider your greatest accomplishment outside of your academic career?

I used to say it was being a licensed medical professional but now, I can say that my greatest accomplishment is being a D1 National Champion. I was a part of the NC State Cheer and Mascot program and was privileged to represent our mascot, Ms. Wuf, for our Game Day routine which took first at Nationals.

What else would you like the Poole College community to know about you?

This college really changed my life. Seems dramatic but there are so many others out there that would agree. Coming back to school was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. And not just coming back for more knowledge, I completely changed career paths. I really cannot express more gratitude to Poole College. The amount of resources they provided me to have the best launching pad for my personal life and professional career is truly remarkable. The amount of knowledge and growth I had was life-changing and I will miss walking the halls of Poole. Thanks for all you do!